Super 8 Fantasy News

Best vs Best in women’s cricket comes to the big stage – Trailblazers vs Supernovas

BCCI has announced an Indian T20 League style women’s challenge match to be held prior to Qualifier 1 that will feature players from Australia, England and New Zealand along with current Indian stars.

The Indian cricketing body backed one-off match will provide the women’s game a platform alongside its most popular tournament with an eye on building the T20 League’s popularity wave worldwide. The two teams named Trailblazers and Supernovas will be captained by Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur respectively and will be on the lines of the Indian T20 League – a total of 26 players will participate including 10 foreign players. The BCCI has offered the same format of the popular T20 League to the women cricketers for the game that is expected to be a test run for a potential women’s Indian  T20 League in the future.

International stars that will make an appearance on Tuesday include England’s Danielle Wyatt & Danielle Hazell, Australians Meg Lanning, Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy & Beth Mooney, New Zealand’s Suzie Bates & Lea Tahuhu who will split between Harmanpreet-led IPL Supernovas and Mandhana’s Trailblazers. 

Match Facts
Date: Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Time: 02.30pm
Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (WK), Smriti Mandhana (C), Suzie Bates, Deepti Sharma, Beth Mooney, Jemimah Rodrigues, Danielle Hazell, Shikha Pandey, Lea Tahuhu, Jhulan Goswami, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha
Supernovas: Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (WK).

If things go to plan, women cricketers in India could have their own version of the Indian T20 League in the next two to three years. The cash-rich T20 league was first played in 2008 and has since grown from strength to strength over the last decade. Budding cricketers get to share dressing room space with the biggest superstars of Indian and world cricket for nearly two months every year. India has steadily improved in the shorter formats due to the League and today, are a force to reckon with in ODIs in any condition across the world.

Meanwhile, the women’s cricket team led by Mithali Raj has touched new heights last year – Raj led her team to the final of the Women’s World Cup, where they lost a close final to England.

Who is your Super 8?

Leagues up in the Lobby!

Get your teams in Now!

Comments are disabled