Super 8 Fantasy News

India Women in SA – 1st ODI

Tomorrow sees India’s women’s squad kickoff a three-ODI series against South Africa as part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-2020).  The squad which doesn’t have any major changes from the World Cup, features 17-year-old Mumbai player Jemimah Rodrigues. The teenager had grabbed the headlines after scoring 202 in 163 balls in an U-19 game.  The ODI series will form part of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC), the qualification tournament for the next ICC Women’s World Cup in 2021.

This will be SA’s first taste of international cricket since its successful run at the 2017 World Cup and they hold sixth place in the MRF ICC Women’s ODI Team Rankings. India are placed fourth behind England, Australia and New Zealand. Mithali Raj heads the Women’s batting rankings, with Harmanpreet Kaur placed fifth. Marizanne Kapp of SA is the worlds No.1 bowler followed closely by Jhulan Goswami at the No.2 spot.

India Squad: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav, Punam Raut, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper).

SA Squad: Dane van Niekerk (Captain), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Zintle Mali.

The ODI series will be followed by a five-match T20I series and the squad for the same will be named later. The Indian team last played an international match way back in July 2017 in the World Cup. India lost to England in the finals by 9 runs. The last three matches of the T20 series will be double-header fixtures alongside the men’s KFC T20 series against India.

SA Coach, Hilton Moreeng is looking forward to his side’s return to action and believes that their preparation through camps in the last few months will hold them in good stead against their dangerous Indian opponents.

Here is our Super 8

  1. Dane van Niekerk (C)
  2. Mithali Raj
  3. Harmanpreet Kaur
  4. Marizanne Kapp
  5. Mignon du Preez
  6. Jhulan Goswami
  7. Smriti Mandhana
  8. Masabata Klaas

The Super 8 have been picked after taking into consideration various factors and analysis. Super 8 is not responsible for any decisions taken by readers of this article while playing. This is written with the sole purpose of providing a guide to choosing a fantasy team for the league. Go get ’em Champs!

Who is your Super 8?

Get your teams in now!



Comments are disabled