Super 8 Fantasy News

England Women in India – ODI Series Preview

A day before the start of IPL 2018, our women take on the sizzling hot English in the first of three ODIs! Will this be a grudge series after the World Cup last year?

Mithali Raj will lead the team with Harmanpreet Kaur as her deputy. The matches are scheduled for 6th, 9th and 12th of April and all matches will be played in Nagpur.

Coming close on the heels of a 3 – 0 ODI series whitewash to Australia last month, the All-India Women’s Selection Committee has named a 15-member squad with some bold changes in an attempt to shake things up. Opener Punam Raut has been dropped from the team after criticism for slow batting in the ODI series against Australia and uncapped Dayalan Hemalatha has been named in the squad in her place. Other major changes include the return of Devika Vaidya and left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad, who missed the T20 tri-series between India, Australia and England due to injury.  Devika last played an ODI for India in February 2017 during India World Cup Qualifier against South Africa.

The touring English side will play a practice game against India A side tomorrow in Nagpur before the series commences. This will be a good game to watch while selecting your Super 8 for the first ODI!

The selection committee has also named a 14-member India A squad that will be captained by Deepti Sharma.

The English
England on the other hand will be without World Cup winners Sarah Taylor and Katherine Brunt. Bowler Brunt has a back injury and wicketkeeper Taylor has been rested. Batter Bryony Smith and all-rounders Alice Davidson-Richards and Katie George have all received their first call-ups in the 16-strong squad while wicketkeeper Amy Jones and seamers Kate Cross and Tash Farrant have been recalled.


India: Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Dayalan Hemalatha, Veda Krishnamurthy, Devika Vaidya, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Rajeshwari Gayakwad.

India A: Deepti Sharma (Captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Devika Vaidya, Dayalan Hemalatha, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Mona Meshram, Sukanya Parida, Kavita Patil, Shanti Kumari, Tanushree Sarkar, Nuzhat Parween (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, TP Kanwar.

England: Heather Knight, Tammy Beaumont, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Katie George, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Bryony Smith, Fran Wilson, Danni Wyatt.

Our Super 8

Mithali Raj
Jhulan Goswami
Jemimah Rodrigues
Smriti Mandhana
Anya Shrubsole
Tammy Beaumont
Nat Sciver
Sophie Ecclestone

Who is your Super 8?

Get your teams in now!

Comments are disabled